History of the Group

The Eastbourne Group of Artists is an exhibiting and networking group for professional and semi-professional artists based in Eastbourne and the South East of England. Originally known as the Eastbourne Society of Artists, it was established in 1920 and the first Chairman was Arthur Reeve-Fowkes, keeper of the Towner Bequest, a collection of paintings bequeathed to the town. The collection was later housed in the Manor House, which the Council purchased and became the Towner Art Gallery and Museum. Apart from a short period during the war, the Society, which changed its name to the Eastbourne Group in 1968 and then, in 2003, to the Eastbourne Group of Contemporary Artists, held an annual exhibition at the Towner Gallery from 1923 until 2005.

Following the sale of the Towner Art Gallery and Museum in 2006, the Group now renamed Eastbourne Group of Artists is re-shaping and evolving in line with changing artistic practise in the 21st Century. Exhibitions are now held in different venues in Sussex and beyond, and research into new areas for development is on-going.

The Group comprises around 18 members who each contribute individual skills and experience to the day-to-day running responsibilities. As well as exhibiting collectively two or three times a year, members participate in a broad range of activities and events on an individual basis, including exhibiting work in galleries and arts festivals locally and nationally.